Street Song (Femme Fatale)

You’re written in her book
You’re number 37, have a look
She’s going to smile to make you frown, what a clown
Little boy, she’s from the street
Before you start, you’re already beat
She’s gonna play you for a fool, yes it’s true

-Velvet Underground

I’m quite pleased to announce that this project (Street Song) was invited for a solo online exhibition at The Entopic Group during the month of May. The exhibition will consist of between 15 and 20 images – which I’m still busy  narrowing down into a decent enough series, but I’m slowly getting there.  Now I just need to find some love for ‘Nowhereville’! Yes, in many ways France – and quite frankly a decent portion of my life – have been a bit of a disaster, but if this ‘passionate affair’ could just work out…Man, now wouldn’t that be something.

39 responses

  1. settleandchase

    I love that there are no people here….they seem like abandoned worlds somehow..

    March 15, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    • Yes, the idea was to leave people out of this series, but you know, the streets really are so empty that it’s not that hard. Incredible how quiet it is at the moment…

      March 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm

  2. Another really nice series of images.

    March 15, 2012 at 11:27 pm

  3. Congratulations for the exhibition, Jean-Pierre!

    This post is just wonderful – one of my favourites of yours.
    And the picture of the rat/mouse hand is so beautiful to me.
    Then there’s the cat, the hook, the shadows, the skull, Velvet Underground, the colours, ‘Let’s be friends’, the narrow street and everything.

    March 16, 2012 at 12:42 am

    • Thanks so very much Ashley, and I’m so glad you liked this one – as this one lies very close to the heart.

      March 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  4. Congrats! Well deserved.

    And damn that instinct that makes us doubt ourselves.

    March 16, 2012 at 2:03 am

  5. I agree with Syncopated Eyeball – this is one of my favourites. There’s alot of stroytelling here; well woven. I just love the streetscapes and the little green flower. And the cat flying past in the second is cool too.

    March 16, 2012 at 2:13 am

    • Much appreciated, Marina! And yes, I find the storytelling angle of utmost importance, so it’s really cool that you mentioned that. Thanks.

      March 20, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  6. Jean-Pierre, you are very right, these streets are full of song.

    A wonderful collection of images. I am happy for your exhibition. Press on!

    March 16, 2012 at 2:41 am

  7. A passionate affair, disaster & great frames, man. That’s the blues:

    “I went to the crossroad, fell down on my knees / I went to the crossroad, fell down on my knees / Asked the Lord above “Have mercy, now save poor Bob, if you please” (Robert Johnson)

    An exhibition is what this project deserves, Jean-Pierre. Just as much as I need to get lost in these frames of yours. Just as much as I need to bath in your light. Just as much as I need to drown in these songs of yours. Soulfood! Keep riding brother cause that’s what makes us feel alive.

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    March 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • Ah man, as always I love the lyrics so very much – as always you choose them so wisely, so passionately. I’m so glad you liked these brother, and that you found something evocative in them, that makes this broken heart of mine very happy indeed.

      So it goes, onwards we travel.

      All the best,

      JP

      March 20, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • Now I’m confused! I thought legend had it that he sold his soul to the devil at the crossroads. Or was that someone else?

      March 21, 2012 at 6:15 am

  8. I find your eye and camera work captivating. I don’t always make a comment because there is nothing I can add to improve your compositions. Great work!

    March 16, 2012 at 11:17 am

    • That’s so very kind of you, thanks so much!

      March 20, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  9. I am happy for you, JP. A well deserved exhibition. The series really must be seen. These empty streets, have so much to tell. Only if we listen…

    March 16, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    • Thanks so much, Sorin. And yes, they do, I believe that to the utmost…and that’s why I love them so.

      March 20, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  10. I rather quite like the one with the cat jumping out of the frame! Congrats on the online show!

    March 16, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    • Cheers, Mike. And yes, I must admit, that’s also one of my favourites!

      March 20, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  11. These are great!

    March 17, 2012 at 3:48 am

  12. Wow!, boy! >>> when you do it you really do it, don’t you? No half-hearted posts from you, my dear friend!!! Where to start?

    Extremely pleased to hear about the solo exhibition – you certainly deserve it! Yes, and I can quite imagine how difficult the selection of images is – you’ve got to be ruthless, your own hardest and most vicious critic – if you’re at all uncertain about an image >>> delete and excrete!

    I’m extremely concerned to hear that you looking upon parts of your life is such dire terms – this needs more private discussion – but only if you want to. And I certainly understand how much Nowhereville means to you – maybe I’d better start prodding people here.

    The Velvet Underground words are great. And the pictures are great too – I have particular favourites. I love the colours in the top one, and in the one below the half-seen cat works very well, and the shadows and textures in the one below the cat are beautiful – and even more so – >>>very much more so – those in the window shot below the one with the nude statue! And I also like what looks like a pigeon’s foot on the ground – the foot is just a little touch of flesh and pink which really makes the picture.

    I worry about you – take good care of yourself! Adrian

    March 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    • Yep, that’s so very true, and so bloody hard also! Indeed, one needs to be ruthless, which I find extremely difficult as I love all of them in a particular way. Yes, it’s tough, but it needs to get done (and relatively soon also!).

      Thanks, man. But there’s no need to be concerned, that’s just me, wearing my heart on my sleeve – which I’m sure you know by now! But I really do appreciate your kind words, you know that right?

      Glad you like these, and cheers for the feedback, it really is very insightful and I appreciate it to the extreme.

      All the best, brother.

      March 20, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  13. The last photo caught my eye. I see geometry and infinity, two things that i love. I also like the wire that takes the form of a hook at the center of the composition, it makes the photo more interesting.
    It is really good thing that your photos found their way to an excibition. Good luck and have patience while selecting the photos.

    March 18, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Thanks so much for the insightful comments, they really are much appreciated. Yes, I’m quite pleased for the exhibition and some additional exposure, but man, I’m battling to choose! It’s hard when one needs to be so ruthless…

      March 20, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  14. Backstreets, alleyways, marks of Man, and the scent of a wandering cat. Excellent collection. Congrats for the show. Hope it’s a sellout.

    March 19, 2012 at 4:58 am

    • That’s very kind of you, thanks so much! Yep, quite looking forward to the show…

      March 20, 2012 at 9:46 pm

  15. congratulations with your exhibition – well deserved – this is a superb series – the abandonment, the shades, the puddles of light, the little creatures and details … it all adds up to a wonderful composition

    March 19, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    • Thanks, Katrien! And I’m so glad to hear that you liked these…

      March 20, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  16. congratulations!! I am sure your other work will find a deserving place soon as well :) Too good to miss

    March 22, 2012 at 12:02 am

  17. George Weaver

    This one is really good.

    March 26, 2012 at 1:47 am

  18. elmediat

    Congratulations ! Behind every femme fatale you will find the stuff that dreams are made of. You just have the creative vision to follow a few twisted alley ways. Good fortune to you. :)

    March 27, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    • Indeed, I completely agree, and that’s what makes the concept of the femme fatale so alluring, so irresistible…
      Thanks so much for the good wishes, and for the award!

      March 28, 2012 at 7:05 am

  19. Nice collection of photos :D where were they taken? oh, and thank you for checking out my artwork recently :D

    March 30, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    • Well, they were taken in a village in the South West of France, just some random place…Thanks for the compliment, and you do some wonderful work on your side!

      March 30, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

