Nowhereville (the nature of)

Chet Baker – As time goes by

Nowhereville isn’t a place of course, its not about any physical vicinity or destination, and it never has been. It’s always only been about memories, purely a state of mind. It’s concern is our unique ways of experiencing our internal landscape, about the joy we feel when unexpectedly stumbling across some distant and beautiful shard of a memory, and yes, it might also be about the pain we feel when taking a wrong turn somewhere, ending up in some dark alley deeply unwanted. I find that these abandoned old places somehow manifest the internal landscape, that they somehow reflect them back at us, showing us our own deeply unique interpretation of them. And for that reason I believe that there might be some value in this pursuit, that in some way, however insignificant it may seem, we might rediscover some aspects of ourselves. That is the ideal, that is the hope.

There’s 28 days left to make this project fly. And if you would like to add some ‘fuel’ to the tank in order to make this all possible, please do so, it would be ever so much appreciated. More information and thoughts on what makes this evolving project tick can be found over here.

Thanks for journeying along so far. And where the road will lead us, I can’t help but wonder…

Next post: The Wandering Nun & other tales


11 responses

  1. that’s my saudade
    thanks for this, keep on rolling under the stars xx

    March 31, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • One of my favourite words, one which I haven’t heard in a long, long time. Thanks Laura, and yes, always rolling forth…preferably under the stars.

      March 31, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  2. A wonderful masterpiece.

    March 31, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    • That’s very kind of you, thanks man! Love the work you do on your blog, especially your poetry – which I think is exceptional.

      March 31, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      • Thank yo so much.

        March 31, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  3. Nowhereville is a place, Jean-Pierre. It’s somewhere deep inside of me that I carry around with me everywhere I’ll go. Nowhereville is the song in my mind that makes me go on & on & on. And Nowhereville is a state of mind. Something deep inside everyone of us that you bring to light. Hndreds od treasures to be found while we all get lost in Nowhereville. A wild ride & an exceptional journey. Thanks, brother!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    April 1, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  4. I absolutely love this shot, and the words pierced straight through my soul!

    April 5, 2012 at 3:44 am

  5. p.s. I tried to contribute to the project, but it said to notify you that you need to make an update in order for me to be able to contribute via PayPal. Just wanted to let you know. Shoot me a reply when it’s up & running again. I’m only able to make a small contribution, but I love your work and would love to see you finish the project!

    April 5, 2012 at 4:11 am

    • That’s wonderful of you, thanks so much! Hmm, don’t know what the paypal problem is, but I’ll find out tonight and let you know. Send me your email address and I’ll shoot you a reply a bit later – off to French classes now, which I so badly need, LOL. My email address is jp.dgreef@gmail.com. Thanks again, I really do appreciate it ever so much. Catch you later!

      April 5, 2012 at 11:33 am

  6. I like your words, my friend – especially “it might also be about the pain we feel when taking a wrong turn somewhere, ending up in some dark alley deeply unwanted.” – yes, I know what you mean. Adrian

    April 6, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Leave a Reply

