After Hours (absence)

<a


12 responses

  1. seems so lonely. Love the calm of this. Nice!

    September 28, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  2. Thanks a lot timm, I found myself passing all these empty, brightly lit stores, and for some reason found them very evocative. It was such a strange feeling that overcame me…Glad you liked them.

    September 28, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  3. These are great. The first image is really quite striking with the golden colours contrasting with the dark. I also like the pattern on the stones made by the shutters in the second image. The second two images contrast well: the baker’s shop is warm and inviting whereas the newsagents is edgy – cold and aloof.

    All in all, very nice!

    September 28, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • Thanks so much for the insightful comments Meanderer, I really do appreciate it. You know, the funny thing is that I had no intention to shoot these, the idea was people, but I chose a strange time of day and the streets were mostly empty, then I noticed all the brightly lit shops and dark surroundings…

      September 29, 2011 at 6:36 am

  4. abrham

    nice

    September 29, 2011 at 8:40 am

    • Baie dankie, eintlik was die plan vir iets heel anders gewees, maar toe trek hierdie ligte my aan en ek moes net. Bly darem maar weird hoe mens iets in gedagte het, en dan skielik is iets heel anders daar in daardie ‘plek’.

      Groete,

      JP

      September 29, 2011 at 8:59 am

  5. Like an old European movie… Love it.

    September 29, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    • What a cool compliment, thanks so much!

      September 29, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  6. Good pictures, JP! My favourite is the top one – the lit interior of the shop is so different from the gey-blues all around. Adrian

    October 1, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    • Yep, that’s my favourite as well, as I walked past I turned around and the contrast in colour really struck me quite hard. Thanks Adrian.

      October 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  7. Good shots, creative idea. I like seeing fresh takes on ordinary places.

    October 17, 2011 at 11:12 am

    • Thanks Mike! And the idea came to me completely unexpectedly as I walked up and down those empty streets.

      October 18, 2011 at 7:01 am

Leave a Reply

