The Gathering




12 responses

  1. Your work is just what innovative work should be: it jolts one out of one’s comfort zone! The people in the first image who appear to be watching an act also seem to be wearing the masks of an actor – playing their part.

    The second image reminds me of a rather claustrophobic performance of Henry V which my daughter appeared in a few years’ back in a very dark, atmospheric and small studio theatre.

    October 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    • I wasn’t entirely sure that I should use these you know, but then I thought what the heck, let’s try something different, and I’m kind of glad that I did. The idea was indeed to jolt the viewer, to take a mundane crowd shot and to turn it into something else, something unexpected.

      That’s such a interesting observation you made there, about the spectators appearing to wear masks. Isn’t it just fascinating how we see things in a picture, how we all process the image in a unique way, how it is often linked to a personal experience or a memory, like the play in your case for example. I find it absolutely intriguing…

      Thank you so much for the superb comments and the compliment also, I really do appreciate the encouragement.

      October 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

  2. That’s good stuff, JP, and very different – great! Adrian

    October 12, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    • Yeah, you know me, always trying something a bit different, not so convinced that it always works, but I try. Cheers Adrian!

      October 15, 2011 at 11:17 am

      • Oh no, it won’t always work, but the important thing is to try, because if we don’t try we won’t know what we’re capable of >>>> like my wind blown trees in orange!!!!! Adrian

        October 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    • Yeah exactly, and didn’t those orange trees of yours turn out brilliantly!

      October 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

  3. Very atmospheric.

    October 15, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  4. Clearly,this experiment worked! Again, a lovely series. Could be very well a ritual. Everything is there to induce this feeling. Very well done!

    October 19, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    • Yes, they are indeed very experimental in nature, and I’m not 100% sure of them, but I’m glad to hear that you think they work, it’s a real boost of confidence you know. Thanks sifrim!

      October 21, 2011 at 9:04 am

  5. I love all of these (as well as the rest!)! It’s vey fitting for Halloween! It reminds me of E.A Poe’s poetry. Terrifically great job! I also love the editing that you have done.

    November 2, 2011 at 3:54 am

    • Thanks for the great comments! Yes, I’m reasonably happy with how this one turned out, and the thing is that I never really intended to use these, you know, the idea just suddenly came to me. Oh, and yes, I’m sure Mr E.A might have had a subconscious influence in the making of some of these…

      November 2, 2011 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

