Station




13 responses

  1. mjcache

    Gorgeous textured photos. Love the contrasting colours of vanilla and brown.

    October 16, 2011 at 8:46 am

    • You know, I really have the quality of light to thank for these shots, it was absolutely gorgeous, and mostly responsible for those vanilla and brown tones. Thank you so much MJ!

      October 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm

  2. I really like these images. I love the colour palette, and the light is simply wonderful. My favourite is probably the first image: I like the way the shadow of the trees frames the lovely, characterful old door.

    October 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

    • Oh yes, luckily I picked the perfect (late afternoon) time for these shots, because I don’t think they would have worked in harsher light, they needed something softer, something with shadows also. Thanks for the great comments, and compliment also Meanderer.

      October 16, 2011 at 3:35 pm

  3. These are good work JP, especially the bottom two in my opinion – very nice! I love the graffiti and the barred window that is sidelit by the sun, and the bottom one is very layered – stratified – horizontally – and I like the graffiti there too. Nice stuff! Adrian

    October 16, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • Yes, I agree, the bottom two are the more accomplished of these. I think there’s too much white sky in the second one, and the composition in the first one feels somewhat ‘wrong’ – but I really, really liked those shadows, so there we go.

      There’s a few more of these I’m working on, so we’ll see how it goes…

      Thanks Adrian!

      October 16, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  4. I like them all very much… especially the second one.

    October 17, 2011 at 1:28 am

    • It’s great to hear that you especially like that second one, as it’s the one I’m most unsure of, so now a feel a bit more confident. Thanks Sheila!

      October 17, 2011 at 11:41 am

  5. zootshooter

    Great collections of shots here. Seems like a real interesting location complimented by lovely soft light and shading. Nicely captured.

    October 17, 2011 at 11:47 am

    • Yes, it is quite an interesting location, and so very quiet, which is what I wanted to bring across in these shots, the solitude. Thank you so much for the kind compliments.

      October 18, 2011 at 3:41 pm

  6. I like the first one the best, I think its the strongest composition.

    October 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  7. I like the way you managed to put the decay and the light at work to create a compelling series. Difficult to choose a favorite, as each is special in its own way.

    October 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    • Thanks sifrim! Yeah, light was the most important thing I had in mind when going to this location, I was really keen on getting that right.

      October 20, 2011 at 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

