Made in mist




37 responses

  1. I can feel it, smell it and see it. Wonderful pictures!

    October 20, 2011 at 5:57 pm

  2. Wow. Stunning. Can feel the atmosphere. It looks like it’s a unicorn in the 1st picture.

    October 20, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    • It kind of does, doesn’t it? It only struck me when I started editing these… Thanks so much for the wonderful compliment!

      October 21, 2011 at 8:40 am

  3. Wow – what a wonderful set of misty images. I love the colours and composition in the first image – the contrast between the strong dark tree which frames the ethereal white horse is wonderful. Again, I like the contrast between the strong barbed wire and the delicate-looking web in the second image. I love the light in the third image and the diagonal composition in the fourth. Great atmosphere in each of them.

    October 20, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    • Thank you so much for the insightful comments Meanderer, you seem to know exactly what my intentions were for each of the shots in this series. Atmosphere and light were most definitely number one in my mind, and what wonderful light I had to work with! There’s also such mystery in the mist you know…

      October 21, 2011 at 8:54 am

  4. Killer Shots! Nicely done!

    October 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm

  5. zootshooter

    Nice collection of shots, I particularly enjoy the first one, the mist lends it a very ethereal quality.

    October 21, 2011 at 12:10 am

    • Yeah, I must say, the first one is also my favourite, because it surprised me how it turned out. Thanks man!

      October 21, 2011 at 8:57 am

  6. such a magical quality to these~! Beautiful

    October 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

  7. very beautiful images! all of them have a really nice quality to them and I like the tinges of green. the horse one is very magical.

    October 21, 2011 at 11:36 am

    • Thanks so much Sheila! Yeah, must say, I also like the horse one, it turned out way better than expected.

      October 21, 2011 at 5:12 pm

  8. Oh, I like all of these, JP – very imaginative, good work! The white horse in the mist is possibly my favourite, it looks almost otherworldly or ghostly. The spider’s web is an everyday shot >>> but add the barbed wire and it becomes quite something else – excellent! I very much like the light in the third one, and the bottom one benefits very much from being away from horizontal – rather dreamlike These are good pictures, my friend. Adrian

    October 21, 2011 at 11:48 am

  9. Oh wow, what nice compliments I get, thanks Adrian! I must admit that the horse one is also my favourite in this series, it’s just that it turned out so much better than I expected. As for the spider shot, yes, I agree, and I was very much aware that it’s such an overdone shot, but then I thought that maybe the barber wire fence would add a little ‘edge’ to it. The last one I’m still a bit unsure of, but I suppose the angle does add a sense uniqueness to it at least. Thanks again, very much appreciated.

    Cheers,

    JP

    October 21, 2011 at 5:18 pm

  10. Lyrical, I especially like 1, 3 and 4, Sally

    October 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    • Thank you so much Sally, very kind of you.

      October 24, 2011 at 7:48 am

  11. Bottlecaps & Broken Bits

    Beautiful and surreal. Love them.

    October 26, 2011 at 6:40 am

    • Thanks so much man! Hope your travellings are still going well, I need to pop in at your blog to go and see what you’ve been up to…

      October 26, 2011 at 4:12 pm

  12. Lovely. I like the way the ethereal nature of the mist contrasts with the bold composition and strong light/dark contrast.

    October 26, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    • What a wonderful compliment, thank you so much Hundovir.

      October 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  13. These images are amazing. The first shot reminds me of an unicorn — so magical. And the shot of the spider web hanging from the barb wire is just absolutely stunning. Love the composition and the lighting.

    October 27, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    • Thank you so much for the enthusiastic comments Emily. Yes, that first one caught me off guard as I didn’t expect that unicorn, he actually only became apparent during the editing process.

      October 28, 2011 at 6:41 pm

  14. intense atmosphere….

    October 30, 2011 at 9:07 am

    • Yep, it was one of those mornings you know, you could almost cut the misty atmosphere with a knife…

      November 8, 2011 at 11:59 am

  15. Lynn

    The very first photo caught my eye. Amazing photography!

    October 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

  16. Love the feeling you’ve created in each of these images, but the one of the horse is just sensational- like something from a dream, or perhaps a distant memory. Excellent!

    November 8, 2011 at 2:17 am

    • Hi Mike! Thanks so much for the inspiring compliments. And yes, I think the horse one turned out unexpectedly well – seeing that I don’t really use animals in my shots, especially horses because of the potential clichĂ© factor. Cheers for the comments!

      November 8, 2011 at 11:57 am

  17. elmediat

    Wonderful work. The first shot is magical. For a moment I thought you got a shot of a real unicorn. Actually, I like to think you did and it is just hiding in plain sight.

    November 12, 2011 at 5:28 am

  18. These are such powerful captures – especially the spiderweb, so delicate, hanging from the barbed wire. Fantastic. I am so glad to have been able to see your blog.🙂

    November 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    • What a compliment, thanks so much, it really is much appreciated. Initially I felt very unsure about the spider web image as I thought it might be a bit cliched, but now I’m glad I used it.

      November 24, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      • well, cliches are cliches for a reason. It’s a shot with an edge.

        November 24, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      • Yes, that is quite true. I think the barbed wire fence helped to give it a bit of a edge.

        November 24, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      • I have become fascinated with how different alot of these spiderweb images look. Mayeb I’ll do a post on it and include yours – would that be ok?

        November 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      • Sounds like a great idea. Yeah, why not, I’ll be flattered if you do. Looking forward to seeing the post!

        November 24, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      • Great – I’ll ping you when it is posted. It would be in a similar format to my current post – called Bolt of Inspiration, Part 3. Thanks!!

        November 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

