Into the forest





12 responses

  1. Nice. The shot of the forest with the blue tarp (?) is unsettling. seems like something from a Homicide.Like that shot because it kind of jarred me.

    November 2, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    • Yes, the idea was to subtly lull the viewer into a false sense of security through a series of mostly everyday forest shots, and then to end it with a “mystery shot”. I tried to be as discreet as possible in doing this by not changing the colour schemes or mood too drastically, in order not to give anything away. I’m so glad to hear that you picked up on this as I thought I might have been a bit too discreet in my efforts after viewing these again. Cheers for the spot on comment Timm!

      November 2, 2011 at 9:15 pm

  2. mjcache

    Hey Cam, I’ve always wanted to see where the swamp thing lived. I presumed the blue tarp was his make-shift house, not the scene of a homicide but both ideas are great! (I’m a little unwell in the head – you get that).

    November 2, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    • Hi MJ! Yeah, I’ve often seen him lurking about, always there in the corner of your eye…Don’t worry, that makes 2 of us, being a little unwell in the head that is, LOL.

      November 7, 2011 at 9:32 am

  3. For me, the feeling of uneasiness starts with the second image and continues: the part open wooden door; the mystery lights; the strange object which could be an old bath or boat – then the strange blue object: I got the shudders early on!

    November 3, 2011 at 9:16 am

    • Yeah, I was trying to build it up a bit, and I must confess that the idea for this series was completely ‘Twin Peaks’ based. Thanks Meanderer!

      November 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  4. You are adept at creating mood in your photography. I love looking at it, because it’s impossible not to feel something towards it. This set makes me feel unsettled and nostalgic.

    November 4, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    • Thank you so much James. And yes, I find the creation of a specific mood to be quite important, maybe of utmost importance actually. So to hear you saying that you felt unsettled and nostalgic while viewing them means a lot, it means that some of what I tried to do worked, which is fantastic news obviously! Cheers, JP

      November 7, 2011 at 9:56 am

  5. Very nice series of pictures, JP – I especially like the one with the reflections in the water. Good work! Adrian

    November 5, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  6. Really lovely gallery of images. Good work!

    November 5, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    • Hey you, thanks so much for the kind compliment, and for the subscription also.

      November 7, 2011 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

