Dance in Time (2)

20 responses

  1. knudsens

    Great photos.

    November 20, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  2. superb black and white work! gritty and amazing

    November 21, 2011 at 9:15 am

  3. Great set of images; each one telling it’s own story. I particularly like the first, second and fourth images and the way the objects-places have been affected by people’s use of them.

    November 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Thanks Meanderer, and yes, even though I present them as a series, I also want each one of them to tell their own tale…

      November 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm

  4. “Motel life ain’t much a life and motel ain’t much of a home / But I found out years ago, that a house ain’t either” (Richmond Fontaine)

    And home is where the play of light & shadows feed my soul. Home is where time is a dancer & I know I came to dance. Home is where everything changes continously. And home is where your great play of contrasts, blacks & whites amazes me. Brilliant, Jean-Pierre!
    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    November 21, 2011 at 11:25 am

    • It’s always so good to receive a comment from you Fritsch, and it’s also such a profound pleasure to go and visit your blog. We seem to be on the same ‘page’, and that what makes all ‘this’ so rewarding, finding a kindred spirit.

      You talked of home, and this is exactly what this post was meant to represent, the search for it, the yearning for that elusive sanctuary…

      Thanks man, and safe travels to you too.

      November 21, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  5. Was looking forward to this, and now will continue to look forward to the next installment.

    November 22, 2011 at 8:17 am

    • Thanks James. I must say that this project is much harder than I expected, but that’s good, it’s maybe forcing me to think more abstractly in a way. Which is perfect, because this project can easily turn into a straight forward representation, which is the last thing I want. But at this early stage I think I’m still finding my feet on this one, still ‘feeling’ it out and being experimental. We’ll see how it goes…

      November 22, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  6. Nice pictures, JP – especially the bottom three – good stuff! Adrian

    November 22, 2011 at 5:07 pm

  7. calvininjax

    An interesting B&W series of subjects that I am often drawn to in my photography.

    November 23, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    • Yes, I’ve noticed that on your site, and you do ‘it’ so well!

      November 23, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  8. Really nice.

    November 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

  9. I walk down the alleys of my past. Where is everyone? This silence, so much silence. Have you notice the houses? They didn’t use to be ruins, did they? Or maybe this is not the past… Could it possibly be my present?

    A very homogeneous series, the photos relate to each other and tell one story. Your project is on the good track, Jean-Pierre!
    Sorin

    November 25, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence Sorin, you know how it goes, one doesn’t always feel that confident.

      That’s a wonderful quote, who’s it by?

      November 26, 2011 at 11:56 am

  10. I really like this sequence. Let’s talk about surface and grain… damn, I can almost touch it!🙂

    November 25, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    • Yep, I’m a great admirer of grain in b&w shots, so I usually try and make use of it in my stuff. Glad you liked it!

      November 26, 2011 at 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

