The Last Picture Show

28 responses

  1. image on tile floor is EXCELLENT!

    December 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • Thanks so much, man! Initially I thought that the symbolism might be overkill, but I’m glad I included it in hindsight.

      December 26, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  2. Are you shooting these with a digital camera?

    I like the Cinema doors.

    December 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    • Hi Wayne. I would love to shoot only with film, but that’s not always possible being stuck out here in the middle of nowhere, and not having my own dark room, so yes, these are digital. Glad you liked those doors!

      December 27, 2011 at 7:59 am

  3. Ohhh, I love the top image! beautifully shot!

    December 27, 2011 at 12:24 am

    • Glad you liked it, thanks Marina!

      December 27, 2011 at 8:00 am

      • reading previous comments, I wonder: why aren’t you happy with the Cinema shot? It seems to be a winner in our books!

        December 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    • You know how it is Marina, from your own perspective something always seems, I don’t know, slightly off, not quite right…But thanks so much for the vote of confidence!

      December 27, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  4. I love these images and just perfect in black and white.🙂

    December 27, 2011 at 3:41 am

    • You know, I was tempted to go with colour, but at the end of the day I felt that they required the b&w treatment, which I think was the correct call. Thanks so much Katie!

      December 27, 2011 at 8:03 am

      • This WAS the correct call. There is no doubt about it!

        December 27, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      • Thanks, man! Really appreciate it.

        December 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  5. Another sweet grouping, but the dig the cinema shot.

    December 27, 2011 at 8:49 am

    • Thanks, man! I’m actually not a 100 % happy with that one, but I suppose one never is…You might see it again however!

      December 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

  6. What a blast, Jean-Pierre! The sense of being stuck in the middle of nowhere with the last picture just vanishing is overwhelming. And when step out there’s just fog. Intense fog that made your great storytelling something more felt than seen.

    Not knowing now if we’re back where we started or if we just started a new road. Out there in the cold, not knowing what will happen but I got them stories of yours so deep in my heart that I don’t feel any fear. Just the strength to go on. Just the strength to doscover what’s coming next. A sense of crossing boundaries, soul brother!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    December 27, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    • Ah man, what a comment, we most definitely hear the same music… And sometimes that’s all that remains, those sorrowful tunes we treasure so much, listening while drifting away in the mist and cold…losing and finding, over and over again.

      Take care, brother.

      December 27, 2011 at 6:54 pm

  7. Very nice series of monochromes, JP, making a very good photo story >>> I don’t know what the final image shows – it could be snowy countryside – but its my favourite >>> good photography!!! Adrian

    December 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    • Cheers, mate! Yes, I’m really getting into the storytelling bit now, and it’s quite a challenge! Which is great of course. That last one is indeed a countryside one, shot hastily from my car’s window while driving, lol. I needed something to complete my story, something that signified ‘fading to black’ (or white in this case), and that one did quite nicely, I think.

      December 29, 2011 at 3:15 pm

  8. I love this set great job!

    December 28, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    • Thanks so much, I really appreciate it.

      December 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm

  9. Amazing shots!

    December 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  10. Lisa Chapman

    We have a lot of abandoned buildings here in Detroit and I have always found great beauty and sadness in the photographs taken of them. These are great – I love especially the first one and the broken glass/floor photo. Very nice.

    December 31, 2011 at 3:39 am

    • Yeah, I can imagine that you have a few over there… Do you go and shoot them often? Thanks so much for the comment & compliment, much appreciated. Happy new year again!

      December 31, 2011 at 8:24 am

  11. Lisa Chapman

    I haven’t myself but I have a link up on my site called ‘Fabulous Ruins of Detroit’ – with some amazing photographs by Detroiter
    Lowell Boileau. I believe his site has encouraged restoration projects in the city, most recently the Book Cadillac Hotel http://bit.ly/bP39TG

    January 1, 2012 at 12:05 am

    • Cheers Lisa, it sounds very interesting and I’m going to follow that link and check it out…always keen on new discoveries, so thanks!

      January 1, 2012 at 8:10 am

  12. I love the through the window shot so much I’m going to press follow.

    January 8, 2012 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

