Another round


Older again, yet again. Memories as ghostly companions, sorrowful companions. Teasing with brutal longing, cruel with ghastly illusion, and yet, still welcome friends. Another tick on the calendar, another one stubbed out, squashed underneath a yellow fingernail. Blue smoke swaying, drifting towards a tight crack in the window. Cold night greedily grabbing hold, erasing with easy indifference. Faded hope lingers, like final dregs from that good bottle of red, bitter on the tongue, harsh reminder.


Another round coming right up says the spectral companions, another year lies in wait, another broken horizon in store. Bring on that bottle I reply, let’s drink from it, let’s spill on our shirts while shouting at the moon, naked, yet unafraid.


And so it goes.



20 responses

  1. one for us and one for the road

    December 27, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    • That’s it, that’s how it goes. Cheers Laura.

      December 27, 2011 at 10:00 pm

  2. and let’s not forget that the glass is always half full. You’re quite the writer (as well as photographer). I really enjoyed the post. I like to think that the ‘Belle Rive’ in the photo is a spin on ‘Belle Rêve’.

    December 27, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Thank you so much Marina! What a kind thing to say… Well, I try you know, mostly I just ramble, but it’s all good, I like to ramble.
      Belle Rêve? What, like in the prison?

      December 29, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      • Belle Rêve = beautiful dream.

        December 30, 2011 at 2:40 am

    • Right, of course…Had myself a bit of a duh moment there.

      December 30, 2011 at 8:35 am

  3. Glad to see the poet coming out in this post. Nice work, man. Look forward to more in the new year.

    December 28, 2011 at 7:14 am

    • Yeah, well, I do tend to write these vignettes (which I like to call them) on occasion, and I’m especially prone to them late at night after I’ve had a few, LOL. Cheers for the compliment, James.

      December 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

  4. What great writing here. You really captured a time, a life. Here’s to another year. And toast, toast, toast!

    December 28, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    • Hi Katie, thanks so much! And you too, hope you’re going to have a splendid year. Cheers!

      December 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm

  5. This time the writing took the front seat, in another superb post. As Marina said above, remember that the glass is half full, at least. And there is always hope. I join you in toasting to that.
    Take care.

    Sorin

    December 28, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    • Cheers, Sorin. And yes, it’s true, the glass is indeed half full, one just forgets, sometimes. Thank you for the kind comments and compliment, it really is much appreciated, you know.

      All the best,
      JP

      December 29, 2011 at 3:41 pm

  6. Shouting at the moon, naked, yet unafraid … can’t wait brother. Another round of heartbreaking tunes. One for the road, the other for some weary minds that can’t help but wander.

    And I’m damn glad to ride another year with you, soulmate. Because you are a poet. Painting with words, painting with some the finest photographs & breaking my heart over & over again. I know there’s one out there to put the pieces back together, Jean-Pierre. So let’s see how much gas in the car & how far can we go.

    A brilliant story, a brilliant composition, my friend!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    December 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    • Ah man, you write such encouraging comments! Thank you so very much. And it means the world to me that they mean something to you, that you can ‘hear’ what I’m trying to say, that they move you, these ramblings of mine. But you do realize that I have to thank you for a lot of my new found inspiration, don’t you? It’s the music, man, the songs you listen to, and those superb, gritty shots of your’s that you pair them with. Those compositions simply blow me away, completely, and utterly. It’s like a shot, straight to the gut. Every time.

      Here’s to the journey ahead, to another year travelling together. Santé, brother.

      December 29, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  7. I’ve just nominated you for The Versatile Blogger award for your incredible story-filled photography. Truly, I love your work. Follow link here for more info: http://thewitcontinuum.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/versatile-blogger-nominations/ Peace…

    December 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    • Wow, thank you so much! Yay, somebody likes me, they really do, LOL.
      I’m not sure how this works, but I’ll check out the link you provided.

      Thanks again, it’s very cool indeed.

      December 29, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  8. Wow! my dear friend, this is heavy – and excellent – stuff! The picture has you written all over it, the colours, the subject matter. But the words, well, these are straight from the heart, very moving and extremely well done – you have a lot of talent and ability, JP. Excellent post! Adrian

    January 1, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    • Yeah well, I have my moments, LOL. Thanks Adrian, as always I find so much encouragement in your words…you inspire me, and you get what I’m trying to do, and that’s what hit’s home, every time. Cheers, mate.

      January 1, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  9. Ergomotion Inc

    Great image, very stylized.

    January 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

