Patience, in a whisper

24 responses

  1. Patience sure is a whisper. But I learned some time ago that even whispers can be the loudest thing one can hear. And this is just the same as with your great photography, Jean-Pierre. It steps in silently, just to end up yelling at me, hypnotozing me & holding me back. No escape from the blues, no escape from here. Great, man!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    January 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    • And that’s exactly it Fritsch, sometimes a whisper is the loudest thing you can hear, sometimes it deafens us with it’s quiet patience. And that’s what these doors reminds me of, how they patiently and quietly watch the world pass by, recording the stories on their ‘faces’.

      Thanks, my friend. And so our journey continuous…

      January 2, 2012 at 12:53 pm

  2. J. William Young

    I’ve always been fascinated by doors (in their philosophical mumbo jumbo portal between two worlds sense, and in their aesthetic individuality) and these are incredibly interesting examples, well captured, sir.

    January 2, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Yep, that makes two of us! And it’s like you said there, one can admire them for their multi layered symbolism and aesthetic individuality, but also, and this is what ‘get’s’ me, for the weight of history they carry. All those little marks, every groove and faded layer of colour…man, they speak loudly!

      January 3, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  3. knudsens

    Great photos.

    January 2, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  4. Tara Bradford

    Lovely! Somewhere in my photo files I have a shot with that giraffe on panel on a side street near Maubert Mutalitie. Must look it up. Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    • Oh yes, you should look it up Tara! And these where so unexpected, you know. I don’t know, they seemed strangely out of place…
      Thank you, and a happy one to you too!

      January 3, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  5. I really love the first image. I like the tones in it.

    January 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    • Yep, that one’s also my favourite…Thanks Meanderer!

      January 3, 2012 at 2:29 pm

  6. What a great location, I love the one of the red wall, window and painted zebra.

    January 2, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    • Oh yes, it was quite the interesting location. The town itself wasn’t all that special, but it sure did have some interesting little nooks and crannies to explore. Thanks, MariAnne.

      January 3, 2012 at 2:41 pm

  7. What a beautiful series, JP. So well captured and you had me at the first image – there’s even a patient quality to viewing these photos. I had to look them a few times over, and slowly. They are so well done. I was in the Brooklyn neighbourhood of Dumbo (stands for, Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass) and there were so many spaces that you would photograph so well. Cobblestones, shells of buildings, murals, narrow streets… doors with character! An amazing place to live (I have some pics on my current post of the views from there) and I’m going to see what images I can muster up over the next few weeks/months/years. Happy New Year!

    January 3, 2012 at 5:50 am

    • Hi Marina. Thanks ever so much for the kind compliments! And I’m glad to hear that you viewed them patiently – which I think is suitable when you look at them, as that was the way they presented themselves to me, patient and filled with so many whispered stories. Oh yes, and I absolutely agree, Brooklyn is the place to be! Man, I can just imagine all that raw material lying in wait…yep, that neighbourhood is most definitely on my ‘bucket list’, without a doubt.

      And a very happy new year to you too! May it be filled with all kinds of new opportunities and creative journeys.

      January 3, 2012 at 2:50 pm

  8. Kasia

    GReat post, the first pic is amazing. It reminds me of my grand-mother’s house, back in Poland

    January 3, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  9. Beautiful work, I love the tones in these images

    January 5, 2012 at 10:11 am

    • Thank you for the kind compliment and visit, it really is much appreciated.

      January 5, 2012 at 11:23 am

  10. Excellent set of pictures, JP, and the top one is my favourite too! I love the colours that you achieve, highly distinctive, and they suit these sorts of subjects very well. Oh that top picture is something, but the more I look at it, the bottom one is too >>> the more I look at it, the more the brown and white ?board seems to be coming out from the wall, and to be almost hanging in space – really quite strange, like something out of 2001 A Space Odyssey (spelling???). Great stuff! Adrian

    January 6, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    • Thanks so much, Adrian. Yeah, that last one is a bit strange, isn’t it? And it’s exactly like you said there, it does feel a bit 3D’ish, which is what really drew me to the shot in the first place. Glad you liked it!

      January 6, 2012 at 6:16 pm

  11. What a great series, they’re all so beautiful. I very much like the colours amd tones.

    January 8, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    • That’s very kind of you, thanks so much!

      January 9, 2012 at 5:04 pm

  12. Fantastic! These doorways are sublime. I love the curtain!

    January 16, 2012 at 4:13 am

    • Ah yes, I’ve got such a overwhelming passion for them, and I simply can’t stay away! Yeah, I’m especially pleased with the curtain one, with how it turned out because it was taken in a hurry, and I didn’t even consciously notice the curtain at the time. Thanks a lot!

      January 16, 2012 at 7:57 am

Leave a Reply

