Street song (2)

31 responses

  1. I love your work.. beatiful

    January 10, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  2. super eerie. and beautiful. in all of the abandonment. are these taken in the night? that grainy yellow light of street lamps. awesome and moody. would be interesting to see juxtaposed with light of day photos. thanks for the comments on my meager attempts at a blog!😉 s/p.

    January 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    • Yes, you can find all kinds of mind states in the abandonment, sometimes it’s dark & eerie, but sometimes the joy astonishes you. That’s a great suggestion, the juxtapose one, and it’s something I’ve been thinking about. Well, I do use different times of the day, but I haven’t really done any night shooting in a while – think that’s going to be my next project/experiment.

      Thanks so much for the compliment & comments, it really is much appreciated you know.

      January 12, 2012 at 9:41 am

  3. Yet another atmospheric and beautiful series. Captivating. There’s a subtle richness to your palette that I really like.

    January 10, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Thanks so much, what a kind thing to say!

      January 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

  4. JP, I love your posts and always look forward to receiving them, as they catch me unawares. This one is so haunting, yet feels like you have come from the other side of Street Song (original). Especially the last two images – with the street art and the graffiti colour. I’m searching for a meaning as this post doesn’t have your words – and that’s the coolest thing as I have looked over and over the images a few times, and tried to figure it out. I like that about your work.. it’s mysterious and invites the audience to come up with their own conclusions. Great stuff.

    January 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    • Hi Marina! Well, I’m glad to hear that my humble efforts catch you unawares, because they are meant to do that! Nah, not really, but they are meant to evoke, well, some personal viewpoint in the viewer. We all view things differently, and what’s beautiful to one pair of eyes might not necessarily be to another pair. You know, I find it fascinating how this works, how our backgrounds, experiences, beliefs etc colour our view of the world, yes, fascinating stuff indeed…

      Yeah, I purposefully didn’t post any words with this series, as I thought I might allow them to ‘breathe’ for themselves, if you know what I mean. Yep, a dash of mystery goes a long way, doesn’t it?LOL

      Thanks so much for the insightful comments, and I’m really pleased to hear that you like them!

      January 12, 2012 at 10:41 am

      • mysterious indeed😉

        January 13, 2012 at 3:24 am

  5. very charming series. Great tones and compositions here.

    January 11, 2012 at 9:20 am

  6. Each one of your images proposes yet another story–a story of multiple possibilities. I especially like the last one, which keeps your palette but adds another. Really nice images, Sally

    January 11, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Sally. Yes, and that’s what intrigues me about all these memory laden details I see on the streets – the multitude of stories entwined within them. Thanks so much for the comment, & compliment also.

      January 16, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  7. What can I tell more than it’s already said here? These photos are from another world…

    Sorin

    January 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Thanks so much, man! Hope ‘from another world’ in a good way, LOL.

      January 16, 2012 at 6:10 pm

  8. Outstanding, I especially like the first two.

    January 11, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  9. great stuff! love it…

    January 12, 2012 at 2:26 am

    • Thanks so much Sheila, glad you liked them.

      January 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  10. “Every morning I’m broken / Every day I die / Every night I weaken / And every night I cry / Standing in the rain / In the street outside / Running down my face / Tears in my eyes” (Willy De Ville)

    Sometimes I feel like hiding in a doorway just to find me on the corner. I look around & there’s noone. Just an old radio playing good old analogue songs. Then I notice it was you just that pulled me into the light just when I wanted to vanish. An excellent essay, brother! Brilliantly composed!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    January 12, 2012 at 9:25 am

    • Thanks man, you’re words drag me from despair when all I feel like is hiding in a corner myself. When all seems so bitterly futile, you come along and say such encouraging things…I appreciate it brother, so, so much.

      January 16, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  11. I love how every photograph here shows a shut entrance or a barrier of some sort. The murky-esque feeling is fantastic. Seriously, bravo, I’m loving these all!

    January 14, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    • Thanks for the enthusiastic response, Kate! And yes, that’s quite an astute observation, they do mostly show a barrier of some sort – Not entirely sure why though, possible it’s something I do subconsciously…

      January 16, 2012 at 6:18 pm

  12. Very much in love with that old staircase – beautiful!

    January 15, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • Thanks Anne, that’s also my favourite one, and it’s one I almost missed!

      January 16, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  13. Beuatiful work, JP! And especially the last two, the one with that bizarre, eye-like piece of graffiti, and the last one, with the running paint on the door and the number 5 – this is excellent work! Adrian

    January 15, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Hi Adrian! It’s not an ‘eye-like’ piece of graffiti, it’s actually a astronaut, LOL. I think they were part of a promotional campaign because they are all over town, and sometimes in the most unexpected places!

      Thanks so much man, I’m really happy to hear that you like these.

      January 16, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  14. Wow! Haunting and gorgeous.

    January 16, 2012 at 4:11 am

  15. Atmospheric.

    January 28, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

