Faces

What’s the girl on the bridge listening to, what is she thinking about? Is she happy, or is she sad perhaps? So many faces and stories, all unique, all hopeful.  How I missed them.

* I’ve been approaching a few of the local art galleries lately, and while still early days I’m happy to report that a couple of them  have shown some interest in a possible exhibition in the summer. So yes, ‘Nowhereville’ is in full swing, and through the incredible support I’ve been receiving from my fellow bloggers, this dream, this passionate affair, lives on. Thank you guys, thank you from the bottom of my ever so grateful heart.

26 responses

  1. knudsens

    I like it.

    February 22, 2012 at 6:16 pm

  2. Go after it!

    February 22, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    • Oh yes, there’s no worries there Timm, I’m raring to go!
      And thanks again man, you have no idea how much I appreciated it.

      February 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  3. The first and last are my favourites! Really, really excellent shots~😀

    February 22, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    • Yeah, the man on the bridge (who I affectionately call Popeye) is probably my favourite ‘people’ shot I’ve ever done. So, thanks for that, thanks for liking that particular one.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  4. I love this series, JP. A smile, a look, a gesture. Indeed, so many stories…

    February 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    • Thank you, Sorin. And you know, I’ve missed this, the people, my photography’s been very ‘barren’ lately, and I’m trying to change that a bit. I just need to get ‘Nowhereville’ out of the way! And thanks to you, and all the believers like you, I’m well on my way to doing just that.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  5. She is listening to “Open” by The Cure, from their album “Wish”. She is a waitress that works at night and she is running an errand during the day. She is neither happy nor sad, just thinking through some logistical things she has to straighten out in her life.

    February 22, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    • Brilliant! Love it, and yes, I reckon you are quite right, I can see that now. Hmm, but I must say that she didn’t immediately strike me as a ‘The Cure’ type of girl, but I might just be mistaken, I think she might actually be, there’s something about her face…

      February 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  6. I like these a lot, Jean-Pierre.

    February 23, 2012 at 1:17 am

    • Thanks, Ashley! Yeah, I actually really missed photographing people…

      February 23, 2012 at 12:59 pm

  7. These are so good!

    February 23, 2012 at 4:52 am

    • That’s very kind of you, thanks Wayne!

      February 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm

  8. mjcache (Mel Cope)

    Hey Cam, mega congrats on a possible exhibition – how exciting!

    February 23, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    • Yeah, like I said it’s still early days, but so far so good. Thanks, Mel!
      Hope things are going fluently with the writing. You are so much braver than me, LOL.

      February 23, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      • mjcache (Mel Cope)

        Braver or mentally compromised…. I’m completely bonkers but at least I am enjoying it.

        February 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    • Brave, mentally compromised, is there a difference? Yep, as long as we’re enjoying it all is well – shouts a fellow loopy one!

      February 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  9. Brilliant, Jean-Pierre! These fleeting moments, faces passing by, driven, running, hopefull, grimmy & with just enough secret to it, that I sit here & stare at them since two days. And probably will do for twi more days. Live a dream & a passionate affair for you can run but you won’t get away unless it’s done. A great little series, brother!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    February 23, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • Thanks so much, brother. And yes, I missed all these faces, terribly. It’s like you said, all those fleeting moments of expressions, all the joy, the disappointments, the hope, and of course, the memories. All there for such a brief moment in time…so much beauty.

      February 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm

  10. People shots – I love these photos. The last two especially. What is she listening to? INXS or maybe Gotye.😉 Maybe both. It doesn’t matter – you’ve captured the mystique!

    February 26, 2012 at 12:45 am

    • Hmm, INXS you say? Yes, very possibly, I can see it…Thanks, Marina!

      February 26, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  11. that’s me–the one at the very top of the page

    February 26, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    • Ha ha! Well, I just love that guy, who I affectionately call ‘Popeye’.

      February 26, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  12. I like them all – each one has it’s own story to tell. Beautiful!

    March 14, 2012 at 1:41 am

Leave a Reply

