Drive

You crank the window, wide,  as wide as it goes. You feel cold night air stinging your eyes, blowing sparks from burning cigarette. The road stretches, it turns, it exhales in expectation. Everything is remembered. Her ghost sitting next to you, whispering, urging you on. You smile, and then, you laugh till there’s none left. It’s a good night.

* ‘Nowhereville’ lives on! And thanks to these awesome people, these believers, this dream might still yet fly. Thanks guys, for your generous contributions, yes, but also for the belief you have shown in this humble, yet passionate affair of mine, and by extension, in me. I’m humbled, I’m grateful, you made me believe, again.

– Adrian, you rock brother! The deluxe package is your’s, you just wait and see. http://eccentric99.wordpress.com/

– George, I’ll never forget this generosity of yours, I’m forever in your debt… http://gweaverii.me/

– Sorin, I only wish that I could ever do b&w as beautifully as you do, thank you so much for your support. http://ifrimphotography.wordpress.com/

– Timm, thanks for the fuel! It will certainly take me to that next town, to that next destination. http://timmeubanks.wordpress.com/ 

And also for the numerous messages of support, thank you, you guys rock!

 

23 responses

  1. You are welcome. Wish I could do more. Go get those killer shots!

    February 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    • You’ve shown belief, Timm. And that means the world, believe me.
      Oh yes, that’s the idea! I’m so getting them…

      February 26, 2012 at 10:38 pm

  2. knudsens

    I love driving, i feel free when im driving. Im going to drive across usa sometime.

    February 26, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  3. I like this shot – quite moody. You’re very good at moody, Jean-Pierre!🙂

    And I’m happy to see you are receiving all kinds of support to help you on your mission.🙂

    February 27, 2012 at 7:46 am

    • Ha ha, yeah, I suppose I’m quite the moody fellow. And believe me, the ex girlfriends sure liked mentioning that as well, LOL.

      February 27, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  4. a cool post, JP. anticipation, reflection and hope! i’m enjoying the colour in this image – whether sunsrise or sunset, there are so many beginnings to be had🙂

    February 28, 2012 at 3:51 am

    • Oh yes, there sure is, and believe me, I’m all about new beginnings! Yep, always on the lookout for a new adventure somewhere down the road…Thanks, Marina.

      P.S I meant to ask you, where was your avatar pic shot? I’ve got a shot somewhere in my maze of images that reminds me so much of it…the background’s almost exactly the same.

      February 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      • Oh, the background is in Barcelona, down one of the streets in Barceloneta, in the beaches area. It’s so funny as there was a restaurant either next door, or a few doors down, and it was called Sergio. My dad’s name is Serge, so I snapped that pic too and sent it off to him. i guess our names are rooted in Spain despite the Russian heritage😉

        February 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    • Right, I’m going to search for that image and you’ll see how similar they are, it’s uncanny I tell you!

      February 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

  5. This looks like a “chiaroscuro” from 16th century.
    I love the atmosphere.
    Cheers,

    Sandro

    February 28, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • What an interesting comparison! Thank you. Hmm, even though the shot’s maybe a bit too indistinct, no?
      I appreciate the comment, Sandro.

      All the best.

      February 29, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  6. a lovely post and a great image! the color is wonderful!!

    February 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    • Hi Mimo! Glad you like it, and you know, I simply couldn’t resist, even though I’m not really one for sunrise/sunset shot’s – they are just too hard to really do well! Dark and gloomy’s more my style, LOL.

      February 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  7. Such a tender image and words.
    Dwelling in nostalgia can be a very creative place JP.

    February 28, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • Yes indeed, nostalgia can be a very creative place, but nostalgia can also be an easy place to get irrevocably lost in. Which, I suppose is not necessarily such a bad thing…

      Thanks, Karen.

      P.S Did you check out the links I sent you? It would be really cool to see your astonishing work featured, it demands it!

      February 29, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      • I haven’t but I will, and I appreciate your passing that information on and your enthusiasm for my work! 🙂

        February 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm

  8. “And if you’re too tired / Go to sleep, my brothers, I / And if you’re too tired / Go to sleep, my brothers I’m alright to drive (The Gaslight Anthem)

    Been on the road for the past three days & still got one more day to go though this message comes straight out of some dark hotel room in the middle of nowhere, brother. But let me say that this beauty of yours feels just like gasoline in my veins. A great one, JP. A great one!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    February 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  9. Love. LOVE. love.

    March 4, 2012 at 12:14 am

  10. I like whats come of this so far. Hope you’re feeling alive and renewed in the adventure.

    March 9, 2012 at 4:40 am

    • Yeah man, I’m good to roll…always. Thanks, and can’t wait to hear how you’re own adventure went!

      March 9, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Leave a Reply

