Dear Darkness

From familiarly mundane, to something else entirely. These soothingly colourful landscapes transforming at night, evolving into infinite mystery. You find yourself on some obscure dirt road somewhere, nowhere. You breathe the slightly dusty night air, and you feel enveloping darkness laying down on you, loving you in that moment.  And all you can do is marvel, marvel at the vastness of it all, all that uncertainty, all that mystery, close enough to smell.

These are from another one of my many badly neglected projects. At the moment it’s all about ‘Nowhereville’, as it can only be. How strange for me as my life’s been one drawn out struggle with the very concept of focus, or more accurately, the lack of it. Always ten different roads, ten different directions badly travelled. And now this is all I can see, this one project, this one stretch of road.  Maybe it’s because this one project symbolizes all that could have been, all those badly travelled roads perhaps travelled differently. This road needs to be different, this needs to be the one that takes me closer to home, it just has to be.

24 responses

  1. Reblogged this on L'ombelico di Svesda.

    February 29, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    • Thanks again for the reblog, Laura. It’s mighty nice of you!

      March 1, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  2. I like this series…it is difficult to photograph darkness

    February 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    • Indeed it is…Thanks so much, glad you liked it!

      February 29, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  3. I just love the fourth image – the light from the windows is the perfect hue, picked up by the last light of sunset in the background. In the dark, these images could be anywhere, but they are someone’s somewhere.

    March 1, 2012 at 1:16 am

    • That is so beautifully put, Marina, the bit where you said ‘but they are someone’s somewhere’. That phrase has been on loop in my head all day long…isn’t that what it all boils down to? When we have nothing left, when all is gone or lost, we still have our perspective, our unique view of the world, and we have our memories, which defines us. I can’t stop thinking about that line…I need to explore it further.

      March 1, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      • I always think of the concept of “someone’s somewhere” when I am traveling, or even in a different neighbourhood to my own. No matter where it is, there is always beauty as it is home to another. There are roots planted there from another time, and how can one not appreciate that? I look forward to seeing where you may take “someone’s somewhere”!

        March 3, 2012 at 12:17 am

  4. Those last two images really work for me, the barbed wire and the impassable thicket – like being stopped in your tracks.

    March 1, 2012 at 4:28 am

    • Hmm, maybe that’s what I unconsciously felt when I shot those…Interesting how our innermost comes to the fore through what we envision, no, not interesting, more inevitable I would rather say.

      Thanks, Karen!

      March 1, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  5. Hi great idea I love the first and fourth pictures – thanks

    http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

    March 1, 2012 at 10:45 am

    • Thanks, Andy. Well, they are probably the strongest in the set. But, it’s like I said, these are from one of the neglected series, so at this point, still very much a work in progress. Call these experimental…

      March 1, 2012 at 11:17 am

  6. The lonesomeness of the road, the dear darkness & the sweet melancholy of your great imagery never fails to break my heart, Jean-Pierre. Knowing that this darkness is the very special time of the day to me, this is just mindblowing. A road taken, a sight captured, the whole wild world in our hearts & always running like blood brothers. Great, man, great!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    March 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    • Yes, that makes two of us, this darkness is also my special time of the day, a time when you can finally breathe in again. Thanks brother, your words are so kind.

      March 5, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  7. elmediat

    An intriguing series. I particularly like the second last image. It has a film noir quality.

    March 3, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    • Thanks so much, that’s very kind of you. And I’m a HUGE film noir fan!

      March 4, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  8. The night adds a great mystery to things. beautiful series!

    March 5, 2012 at 1:01 am

    • Oh yes, it transforms and twists everything around…
      Thanks, Mimo!

      March 5, 2012 at 8:56 pm

  9. “Life is too short to be all daylight. Night is not less; it’s more.” – this quote is from Jeanette Winterson – a little present in return for this fascinating set of images balancing between comfort, belonging and distress, estrangement
    (for the complete -quite inspiring- text: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/oct/31/jeanette-winterson-night-guide

    March 6, 2012 at 11:01 am

  10. The momentum of “Mood Flow” gathered interestingly… an air of mystery intact within each, well crafted pieces.

    March 6, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Well, I tried to retain a little bit of mystery for each of them…so it’s good to hear that you see this. Thanks, Ivy.

      March 6, 2012 at 6:50 pm

  11. An intriguing and beautiful series, JP. I agree with you: first and fourth are the strongest images. Another interesting project. But one at a time…

    March 6, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    • Ha ha, yes, I’m quite the impatient fellow! Always looking for the next one. Thanks, Sorin.

      March 6, 2012 at 6:52 pm

  12. Love the article – that sundown hour is strange and exhilarating, as ordinary spatial relations are altered: trees rear up in their own shadows, buildings bulk out, pavements stretch forward, the red wrapper of brake lights turns a road into a lava flow – Jeanette Winterson. Exactly! Thanks, Katrien.

    March 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  13. At last! I finally can access this post. My phone wouldn’t load it properly but now I’m in an internet cafe.
    I like these very much. Especially the car one. So much atmosphere and I love the night.

    March 7, 2012 at 2:54 am

Leave a Reply

