Dear Darkness (2)

I need you, need you by my side
Lonely evenings, eyes are open wide
Nothing you say could make me turn my back

Well I see you, and you see me too
Moon is rising, night will be here soon
Follow me, and lay down in my room
Hold me, hold me in your arms
Well now heal me, heal me with your touch
Your touch keeps me hangin’ on

– Black Keys

* What happens to lost memories? Where do they go when they fade? They go to a place called Nowhereville’, a familiar place. Soon I will be taking to the road in search of them. Soon I will give them back some semblance of memory. That is my task, that is my desire. Join me for the ride?

14 responses

  1. another intriguing darkness series. I really like all of them… I wanted to say the first and the last ones but then I couldn’t choose.

    March 6, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    • Thanks so much! These are more experimental than anything else, but I’m definitely going to develop the idea further, so we’ll see how it goes…

      March 11, 2012 at 10:36 am

  2. Wonderful, Jean-Pierre! Now who’s looking Lynchian?🙂

    March 7, 2012 at 2:56 am

    • Ha ha, yes well, I still think the ‘dancing woman’ takes the cake. Thanks for liking Ashley!

      March 11, 2012 at 10:38 am

  3. “I got a house that’s full of lights but I never turn them on / Heater’s broken, moon is going down” (The Gourds)

    Feels like we’re riding on that lost highway. And man it’s amazing how you make that darkness shine like a long lost pearl. It’s amazing how you manage to make this darkness feel warm inside when there’s not a soul around. And these places we visit have their own very special magic, when we lean on that hotel sign & walk out into the night. You are a heartbreaker & storyteller, JP. And I love every bit of your gorgeous soulfood, my friend!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    March 7, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    • Ah man, and so it is, a lost highway indeed, a road of discoveries and treasured details. Thanks so much for understanding, for joining me on this lonely old ride. Believe me, it’s good to have a soulful brother at my side, seeing with me, believing with me…And on we travel, destination unknown, how it is, and maybe how it should be.

      All the best my friend.

      March 11, 2012 at 2:24 pm

  4. excellent sequel – keep rollin’

    March 7, 2012 at 8:10 pm

  5. Great photos…and I love the Black Keys! So cool.

    March 8, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • Thanks, much love for the compliment. And yes, they are a rocking band indeed, glad you liked the choice!

      March 11, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  6. That spot of light in the darkness bespokes some hope…your memories are safe; let’s explore! Good images.

    March 9, 2012 at 9:57 am

    • Yes, It’s a constant battle of hope & despair…and at some point one or the other needs to gain the upper hand, as it needs to be. But in the meantime, as you said, let’s explore!

      March 9, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  7. Yeah I’ll join you for the ride!!!

    Good set of pictures, JP, good ideas! I particularly like the second one down – that’s extremely moody and mysterious. And the bottom one is just wowee! – really excellent colours and blur – and having the last of the daylight left in the sky is really helpful here, adds a lot. Good stuff, man!

    Hope the fundraising is raising! If you already have some sites in mind for the project, what about popping out to see some, assuming they’re not too far? Or would you really like to be seeing them for the first time when you photograph them? Take care! Adrian

    March 9, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    • Thanks man, glad you like these! I have to say that they are very experimental in nature, and that that idea is still evolving…but yeah, I think that I’m on the right track. Anyway, we’ll see where the road takes me…

      The fundraising seems to have hit a bit of a bumpy patch, but it’s ok, I’m trying not too panic (yet), LOL. Good question that…Hmm, and yes, it is indeed a case of only wanting to shoot them when I first lay eyes on them, but how to explain why exactly is a bit difficult, and also I don’t want to sound too pretentious – as I sometimes do! It’s just that this project is such an emotional one and I don’t want to preempt the response I’ll have when discovering them – if that makes any sense whatsoever, LOL. But I have been to a few of the intended places, without a camera!

      March 11, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Leave a Reply

