Dreamin’ – Escape

If I close my eyes I can smell your perfume
you look and say, “Hi baby”
If I close my eyes pictures from China
still hang from the wall
I hear the dog bark I turn and say
“What were you saying?”
I picture you in the red chair
inside the pale room

Dreamin’, I’m always dreamin’

– Lou Reed

Next post, some new ‘Nowhereville’. And  still the dream lingers, stubborn to the very end…as all dreams should do. Intangible and flimsy, maybe. Sturdy and soaking with possibility, certainly.

16 responses

  1. When I get an e-mail and see that you have another post to offer us, I know that I will be pleased. You are on a great journey, and hope that your dream comes true, Sally

    March 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    • How kind of you, thanks ever so much Sally.

      March 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm

  2. Oh yeah…
    Fleeting traces. Couldn’t be better.

    March 23, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • Again, coming from someone as supremely talented as yourself, this is high praise indeed. Thanks, Karen.

      March 25, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  3. A great escape indeed.

    March 24, 2012 at 12:00 am

  4. Your work is so enchanting, Jean-Pierre. Such a beautiful personal style you have.

    March 24, 2012 at 12:15 am

  5. Lovely

    In all the 20 years of my existance I am yet to see snow with my naked eyes😦 . The joys of being born in Sunny South Africa

    March 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    • Well, I’m an ex Pretoria boytjie myself, so yes, I know exactly what you mean! We certainly didn’t get much snow over there! Thanks so much for the visit.

      March 25, 2012 at 9:28 am

  6. beatifull

    March 25, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  7. from the very first image i was completely drawn into this series – there is an almost palpable absence in it – very touching and poetic

    March 25, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  8. And after the days are done & the dust had time to settle all that remains are traces. Beautiful traces. Traces that linger in my mind even when they finally vanished. Because I know I’m on the road to nowhereville with her perfume still haniging in the air. Great storytelling again, my friend!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    March 27, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  9. Hi JP! >>> I’m not having too good luck here today – twice I’ve posted comments here and they’ve disappeared! And no, I am not drunk! >>>>>>Try again!!!

    I like the bird footprints – what about rotating that one by 90 degrees clockwise? That 30 sign really sizzles, it makes the picture, and its my favourite image here. The two cups on the snowy table start me off thinking about people who were here, their sole traces, after they’ve moved on. I think you and I have talked about this kind of thing before. And I like the Santa desperately from the chimney! Good stuff, man! Take care! Adrian

    March 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    • Yes, that’s good advice, and I tend to agree that a 90 degrees rotation might be the way to go. While editing I was thinking the same thing, but you now confirmed my suspicions. Thanks for the kind compliments about the other images in this collection, especially the table one which is exactly what I meant to convey.

      Cheers again for choosing your selection from the ‘Street song’ portfolio, it really is of great help.

      Have a great weekend, my friend.

      March 30, 2012 at 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

