Walk the earth*

Exciting times are lying ahead, onwards I go. Time for a bit of a walk I’ve come to realize, time to go and see what I find on the road. Soon I’ll be heading out for a bit of a stroll, a 400km stroll that is, and perhaps even further. The plan is to follow one of the ‘Camino de Santiago’ routes through France to the border town of St Jean Pied de Port, where I’ll either cross into Spain, or head back, but that part remains undecided and vague, as it should I reckon.

The idea behind this ‘stroll’ is of course to develop ‘Nowhereville’ further, and also possibly to start a new project – which might take the form of a travelling diary, and contain portraits (and short profiles?) of people I meet ‘out there’. These are the main drives for this wandering, but also there’s the need for reflection, for some perspective on a life that’s become excruciatingly, and painfully stale lately. Maybe it’s all about reinvention, yes, that might just be it… I can’t really put my finger on it, but all I know is that this needs to happen, the drive towards open space is overwhelming, and I have no choice but to heed this longing, it simply feels too right to ignore.

So yes, I might be off the grid for some time as I want this to be as ‘old school’ as possible – no internet, no phone, bare minimum technology. But no worries, I’m not planning on doing a ‘Into the Wild’! Nah, it’s not nearly as dramatic as all that, it’s just that I would like to travel as light as possible, if that makes any kind of sense whatsoever. But yes, I probably wouldn’t be able to withstand the lure of the net for any appreciable amount of time, so in all likelihood I’ll be posting as and when I can on route.

Right, so catch Y’all soon then!

– Btw, my online solo exhibition (Street Song) which I previously mentioned went live today, so check it out! http://www.entopicgroup.com/paginas/i-1.html (just click on my name right at the top of ‘Solo shows’)

* Jules: I’ll just walk the earth.
Vincent: What’cha mean walk the earth?
Jules: You know, walk the earth, meet people… get into adventures. Like Caine from “Kung Fu.”

– Pulp Fiction

23 responses

  1. Noel Tendick

    My brother hiked the Camino and I’m fixing to hit it within the next year, looks like such an amazing journey. Have a great trek!

    May 2, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    • Hey, who knows, maybe we’ll still run into each other! Thanks brother, I’ll definitely try and have an inspiring one.

      May 2, 2012 at 8:51 pm

  2. Great photos and i like the photographic effects that you added. good job.

    May 2, 2012 at 9:00 pm

  3. Gorgeous as always😀 Love the trees!

    May 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    • Thanks a mil Stacey! Yes, I don’t usually do trees, but I’m kinda glad that I did that day…

      May 5, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  4. When the drive towards open space is overwhelming, then off you go! I am sure it will be something special. I so much enjoy your photos, but I can wait….Have a safe journey.

    May 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    • And it is, overwhelming that is. And it’s so hard to put into mere words, you know? Thanks so much!

      May 8, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  5. Sounds like a very exciting and cool journey. Best wishes – looking forward to the images you bring back. Peace.

    May 2, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    • Yep, hopefully I’ll find some unexpected and interesting photo op’s on the road, sure I will though. Thanks, brother!

      May 5, 2012 at 5:48 pm

  6. That last image is amazing! Good luck in your journey!!

    May 3, 2012 at 3:08 am

  7. Hope the winds behind you….

    May 3, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • Thanks, man. And yes, I certainly need that wind!

      May 5, 2012 at 5:50 pm

  8. Bon voyage CV…

    May 4, 2012 at 12:09 am

  9. “On your way and you’ll soon be there / Time flies when you got such a long way to go” (Scott H. Biram)

    Old school travels but let me say that I already miss you brother. Make sure to pack up a copy of Kerouac’s “on the road”, some fine tunes & don’t make us wait too long for this little treasures of yours, JP.

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    May 4, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    • Oh yes, my torn and taped up copy of ‘On the road’ is always close at hand, yep, we’ve had many a crazy journey together over the years. Thanks so much for the kind wishes, man. But this is not farewell of course, far from it, this is more of a homecoming…

      Catch you soon, brother.

      May 5, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  10. OK, my friend, go well! I hadn’t realised you’re contemplating a 400 Km walk – but why not! And I think you’re absolutely right that it will do you good to get clean away from your normal life and places for awhile.

    Good photos – the one at the top is definitely my favourite.

    I’m going over to look at your exhibition now.

    Take care, and look after yourself! Adrian

    May 6, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • Indeed, why the hell not, and man, you have no idea how much I need the reflection…Thanks, brother!

      May 8, 2012 at 8:56 pm

  11. That’s an impressive show. Your words at the beginning made your thoughts very clear to me – which is very important I think – and were a very good introduction to your photos – its all very well done, and I like the very Minimalist presentation – just right! Adrian

    May 6, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    • Thanks so much for liking, Adrian! As for the words, well, I must just mention that I’m not a big fan of “artist statements”, I firmly believe that someone’s work needs to stand on their own feet, especially in a visual medium where interpretation’s open to individual (and subjective?) meaning. But hey, it’s all good.

      May 8, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  12. safe, happy travels!

    May 9, 2012 at 1:55 am

Leave a Reply

